Spoken or Written

The Hmong language is a difficult one. There are certain words and sounds that not even native speakers can say. In the beginning the Hmong language was only a spoken language, but in the 1950s missionaries went to Laos and created an alphabet using the Romanized Popular Alphabet.

The Hmong alphabet consists of 56 consonants, 14 vowels and 8 tones. The tones are letters that will indicate how a word will be said. The consonants are: j, s, v, m, g, d, b and (none).
The written language is much more complex than the spoken. There are times when I am writing to my siblings and struggle with the correct consonants and tones, because I grew up well acquainted with the English alphabet.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s